Executive 2018-2019

The annual general meeting of the Yellowknife Amateur Radio Society was held in May 31, 2018 (Minutes for 2018). 

Acting President


Chris Cameron

Acting Vice President


Mikaƫl Turgeon**



Craig Broddy

Training Director VE8RT Ron Thompson*

Technical Director


Ian Rennie*

* Accredited Examiners

The exercise of leadership in a volunteer society is always a difficult thing.  Thank you to all of these persons and others who have volunteered their time to steer the Society. 

Being a director on the Society requires one to hold a valid licence.  The work is not terribly onerous and it is an environment where one can learn about the governance of a Society using a hands-on approach.  This might be useful should one ever become involved in Society governance in another context.  The governance of Societies is a fundamental part of community activism and involvement.  In a way it parallels how corporations govern themselves too. 

If you are interested in serving on the Executive and you are a licensed amateur radio operator (a requirement of the Society constitution), please consider volunteering.  Remember: "many hands make light work".